

Miami Valley Career Technology Center Press Release

For Further Information Contact: Kelly Herzog MVCTC Public Information Coordinator Phone - 937-854-6056 E-Mail – <u>kherzog@mvctc.com</u> Check us out on Twitter at www.twitter.com/mvctc

For Immediate Release – April 2009

MVCTC Students Meet with Legislators

Columbus, Ohio – Students from the Miami Valley Career Technology Center (MVCTC) visited Columbus on Thursday, April 9, 2009, as part of the Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) Legislative Luncheon. The annual event allows students enrolled in career technical programs to see first-hand the state government and to share their experiences in career technical education with Ohio legislators. Students started the day with a tour of the Ohio Statehouse and then had the opportunity to meet Representative Robert Hackett, and aides from Representative Seth Morgan and Representative Richard Adams offices.

The MVCTC students participating in the luncheon had been recently inducted in the National Technical Honor Society (NTHS). Selection for this honor requires that students have at least a 3.75 grade point average for six quarters, 97 percent attendance, pass all parts of the Ohio Graduation Test, and be recommended by all junior and senior instructors. The MVCTC students attending the luncheon included: Courtney Boone (New Lebanon), Ethan Couch (New Lebanon), Lexi Fairley (Wayne), Caleb Fetters (Ansonia), Paige Green (Miamisburg), Jordan Greve (Arcanum), Cotey Hembree (Valley View), John Holt (Brookville), Clint Landes (Brookville), Joe Lofino (Northmont), Emily Moore (Vandalia), Benjie Pascual (West Carrollton), Andrew Peters (Franklin Monroe), Cody Stump (Mississinawa Valley), and Sara Taylor (Tri-County North).

For more information about MVCTC and the 50 career programs and academic opportunities for high school juniors and seniors, please visit <u>www.mvctc.com</u>.

###

Photo: MVCTC National Technical Honor Society students attending the Ohio Association for Career and Technical Education (ACTE) Legislative Luncheon in

Columbus. Pictured left to right Front Row -- Sara Taylor (Tri-County North), Lexi Fairley (Wayne), Joe Lofino (Northmont), Clint Landes (Brookville), Andrew Peters (Franklin Monroe). Middle Row -- Cotey Hembree (Valley View), Ethan Couch (New Lebanon), Cody Stump (Mississinawa Valley), Caleb Fetters (Ansonia), Benjie Pascual (West Carrollton), Courtney Boone (New Lebanon). Back Row – John Holt (Brookville), Emily Moore (Vandalia), Paige Green (Miamisburg), and Jordan Greve (Arcanum).