

Miami Valley Career Technology Center Press Release

For Further Information Contact:

Kelly Herzog

MVCTC Public Information Coordinator

Phone - 937-854-6056

E-Mail – kherzog@mvctc.com

Check us out on Twitter at www.twitter.com/mvctc

Or become a fan on Facebook

For Immediate Release – September 2010

MVCTC FFA Participates in Soil Judging Contest

Clayton, Ohio – The Miami Valley Career Technology Center (MVCTC) had over 60 Center of Science in Agriculture (COSA) juniors and seniors participate in the Montgomery County Soil Judging contest on September 17. The contest was located at Sycamore Farm in the Brookville/Trotwood area where they competed in Urban or Rural Soil Judging contest. Teams of four students will participate in the District Soil Judging contest in Mercer County September 29.

Members of the MVCTC Urban Soils teams are:

- Brooke Combs (Miami East)
- Dustin Jones (Miamisburg)
- Sara Lohnes (Eaton)
- Kelcie Sievers (Northridge)
- Jeremy Minke (Brookville)
- Jennie Vicroy (Valley View)
- Daniel Jameson (Preble Shawnee)
- Alex Baker (Ansonia)

The Rural Soil Judging team members are:

- Aaron Wise (Eaton)
- Olivia Glander (Twin Valley South)
- Sydney Cline (Brookville)
- Jacob House (Arcanum)
- Eli Davidson (Tri County North)
- Scott Seim (Twin Valley South)
- Jessica Braswell (Milton-Union)

Dakota Vonderhaar (National Trail) had the top score for the rural contest. Everyone involved did a nice job and a special thank you to Ohio FFA and the Montgomery County Soil and Water Conservation District for hosting such a well run and informative contest.

MVCTC Agriculture Education programs include those on the main MVCTC campus, as well as satellite programs at Eaton, National Trial, Tri-County North, Twin Valley South, Miami East, Brookville, Tri-Village, and Mississinawa Valley High Schools. For more information about MVCTC, please visit www.mvctc.com.

Photo: - MVCTC students with the highest scores in the Montgomery County Soil Judging Contest were Eli Davidson (Tri County North), Jessica Braswell (Milton-Union), Dakota Vonderhaar (National Trail), and Scott Seim (Twin Valley South).