

Miami Valley Career Technology Center Press Release

For Further Information Contact: Kelly Herzog MVCTC Public Information Coordinator Phone - 937-854-6056 E-Mail – <u>kherzog@mvctc.com</u> Check us out on Twitter at <u>www.twitter.com/mvctc</u> Or become a fan on Facebook at <u>www.facebook.com/mvctc</u>

For Immediate Release – May 2011

MVCTC Students Recognized at Violence Prevention Award Ceremony

Dayton, Ohio -- Miami Valley Career Technology Center (MVCTC) Legal Assistant and Business Ownership students were recognized at the Annual Violence Prevention Poster and Essay Contest awards ceremony. The event, held at the Dayton Masonic Center on Wednesday, May 11, showcased winners of the Violence Prevention Poster and Essay Contest, which is sponsored by Montgomery County Prosecutor's Victim Witness Division.

The contest included participants from schools all over the Miami Valley. Prizes were awarded to all entrants, with special prizes being awarded to the top entries in each age group based on creativity and originality. MVCTC had ten students that received awards. Caitlyn Youngerman (Tipp City) won 3rd place in the poster contest. MVCTC students receiving Honorable Mention for their Poster designs were Nikita Brockman (Milton Union), Kelsey Durham (Bethel), Dairyale Guest (Northmont), Ciera Mackie (Eaton), Caitlynd Milakovich (Wayne), Jessica Miniard (Brookville), Jordan Murphy (Arcanum), Jessica Poe (Brookville), and Hilary Webb (Vandalia). Each student received a book bag, a water bottle, and a flash drive—Caitlyn also won an MP3 player.

MVCTC is very proud of our students and congratulates them on their great accomplishments. For more information about MVCTC and the 50 exciting career programs offered to high school juniors and seniors, or the career training opportunities offered to adult students, please visit <u>www.mvctc.com</u> or <u>www.ctctube.com</u>.

###

Photo: MVCTC students were recognized for their poster design contest entries at the Annual Violence Prevention Poster and Essay Contest awards ceremony. Pictured left to right - Nikita Brockman (Milton Union); Kelsey Durham (Bethel); Hilary Webb (Vandalia-Butler); Caitlynd Milakovich (Wayne); Dairyale Guest (Northmont); Ciera Mackie (Eaton); Jessica Miniard (Brookville); Jessica Poe (Brookville) NOT PICTURED: Jordan Murphy (Arcanum) and Caitlyn Youngerman (Tipp City).